Client Testimonials

Custom Residence

9-18-2020

We hired Arielle to build our modern house in the woods. We worked remotely, with only a few in-person meetings as we were from out of state.

 

She listens, excels at brainstorming and troubleshooting, and has the technology to both make changes on the fly and present interactive 3-d renderings. She absorbed and executed the minutia such as having enough wall space for our art, y et keeping enough window space to let the forest in.

 

She recommended the builder we used, was proactive in siting the house on the perfect spot on the land, and all in all assured it was a great experience.

 

We had never built a house before and Arielle helped with myriad decisions -- providing invaluable guidance in not just the architectural aspects but also the design details. We interviewed two other architects besides Arielle and are so happy that we selected her.

 

We love our home. We value Arielle as an artist and as a human being.

 

Award Winning Net Zero Residence

9-16-2020

Arielle was the perfect architect for our Haw River House project. We wanted something custom from top to bottom and net neutral or even net positive, if possible.

 

Arielle spent a considerable amount of time at the property, letting it "tell" her how to design our home. She gave us several options from which to choose. Once we decided on a design, Arielle listened to our concerns and desires so she could tweak the design until we had what we wanted.

 

After construction began, Arielle was always available to come on site to review the construction and to point out areas that needed attention or alteration. After construction was complete (537 days after breaking ground), Arielle has been on site several times to help with "green" issues.

 

She was and is professional, personable and affordable.

 

Our home sits on a bluff overlooking the Haw River, has zero utility bills because of the solar array on the roof, a geothermal heating and air conditioning system, and a roof designed as a rainwater catchment system dispersing rainwater into two 5000 gallon cisterns which filtrate the water in accordance with standards adopted outside the state (North Carolina has yet to regulate this renewable resource).

 

We couldn't be more happy!  S.Z.

Custom Residence 

9-3-2020

Arielle was absolutely amazing to work with. She’s incredibly talented when it comes to incorporating functionality and modern design. From the start of the design process through completion of our new construction, Arielle was always available to offer suggestions, advocate for us, and listen to our concerns. She was simply a joy to work with, and made our building experience smooth and seamless. We cannot say enough good things about our experience with Arielle!  D.B.

Family Estate

8-30-2020

My husband and I met Arielle in the Spring of 2017 during the green home tour. We quickly fell in love with Arielle's modern green design projects.

 

She is passionate about her work, cares deeply about her clients and makes sure the design is customized to the clients’ needs and goals. She works well as a team with excellent contractor partners that build her projects as specified.

 

Arielle was by our sides the entire way, skillfully walking us through the challenging parts of the construction process - the thousands of decisions, navigating inevitable differences of opinions that couples have, and the constant moving parts (structural engineering, cost estimates, the bank loan process, etc.)

 

Arielle works closely with the entire team to make sure every last detail is right, and comes to the job site to review work that had been completed.

 

The cost of hiring an architect like Arielle is a great investment and will ensure you get a home that will truly be customized for your family.  E.D.

 

2020 MATSUMOTO PRIZE JURY AWARD!

7-24-2020

We were delighted and honored to receive a coveted Matsumoto prize jury award  for our Haw River House!  It was an incredibly illustrious jury of internationally renowned architects such as Toshiko Mori, Barbara Bestor, Harry Wolf, Annabelle Selldorf and others.  We were thrilled to receive second place in the juried portion of the competition!

 

Best of HOUZZ Award 2019

1-24-19

ACS has won Best fo HOUZZ for the fourth year in a row.

 

Mid Century Modern Courtyard and Renovation

9-29-18

We sought out Arielle to help with designing and planning our outdoor space. After having a terrible past experience with our builder, it was such a breath of fresh air to work with someone as thoughtful, detail oriented, and professional as Arielle.

She was able to direct us while still making all of our thoughts, preferences, and questions feel valid and important. She also did a wonderful job of contractor recommendations and helped with this selection and coordination.

Even after the project was completed (and it is amazing in its finished state!), Arielle has served as a resource for other questions and ideas. Overall, I have zero hesitations in recommending her and really just think she does amazing work and is an amazing person.  R.C.

 

 

MCM Courtyard Design, Details and Hardscaping

Summer 2018

We took a chance with Arielle after reviewing her work and vision from her webpage. Upon the first meeting, we knew we found the right person to design out entry space and courtyard.

 

Arielle was effortless to work with, had so many wonderful ideas to bring the space to life, and really spent time listening to what we wanted.

 

Her design fit our aesthetic and blended with the existing home and terrain perfectly. When we can afford the next phase of our project, we will most definitely ask Arielle if she would take on the work. We would enthusiastically recommend Arielle to others!  J.C.

 

 

Custom Modern House, Chatham County, NC

9-25-18

We deliberated for over a year as to whether or not we wanted to undertake building our 4th home.

We wanted to build modern and met with several local architects to discuss the project.

 

Then we met with Arielle Schechter and our search for an architect ended.  

Arielle takes a team approach to designing a house and she really listens to her clients' needs.

 

Arielle designed a house for us to age-in-place that accommodated my mobility issues. She is a seasoned professional with an eye for detail second no to none.

She never left our side throughout the building process and was always quick to provide alternative suggestions along the way. She was highly respectful of our budget and found creative ways to add value to our home.

 

We are moving from 4,000 to 2,000 sq ft. Arielle designed our house with an interior that feels open and spacious.

We wanted to build green and retained Newphire Builders who work hand in hand with Arielle on her green energy projects. 

 

To say that this build has been a joy is an understatement. Newphire Builders are the premier green, high performance builders in the area and boy do they perform.

We ended up with the home of our dreams and then some thanks to Arielle's brilliant design and Newphire's flawless execution.  L.S.

 

 

Customized Micropolis House

9-18-18

Finding a modern home designer is not easy! We lucked out upon meeting Arielle. My husband and I have been living in our new modern, “green” net-zero home designed by Arielle Schechter since May.

 

I am every bit as delighted with it and even more so now that we are living in it than from when Arielle first designed it. Arielle designed a home that is uniquely ours by listening to both what we wanted and needed in our home.

 

She not only listened to our wants and needs but also gave suggestions on things that I hadn’t even thought about. She is very detailed and designed around my furniture that I wanted to keep. I love shoes so she gave me a shoe closet for the shoes I had and space for more!  She also incorporated into the design little things that were important to me right down to a place to keep the kitty food bowls and their litter box.  

 

Arielle met with us several times showing us different ideas using her CAD expertise so that we could actually see our vision come to life. Arielle is a delight and was a pleasure to work with. Her knowledge, skills and expertise makes her a top-notch modern home designer.

 

Through Arielle our “dream home” has become a reality. We couldn’t be happier! I highly recommend Arielle to make your “dream home” a reality.  C.S.

 

 

Professor's House

11-2-17

I love my new house designed by Arielle Schechter.  Only 1689 square feet, it is great for aging in place. There are no steps. The great room has 14' ceilings, two walls of windows that look out on woods, and a two-sided fireplace that also opens to the study.

 

The two bedrooms are spacious and have corner windows. The master bath has a roll-in shower and a Japanese soaking tub, and the guest bath has a walk-in shower.

 

Outside are two porches, one screened and one open, and a deck with a pool.

 

Arielle was easy to work with. She understood my needs and desires and came up with wonderful ideas.  I strongly recommend her.  T.P.

 

2018 Best of houzz Award

ACS has been awarded a 2018 Best of houzz Award.  

 

 

Feasibilty Study

10-30-17

Arielle took on a small investigative project for us, we wanted to do a feasibility study for adding onto our existing home. It was a long shot from the beginning, but she was wonderful -- she talked through possibilities, gave us great ideas, drew up some sketches, and was very accommodating at every step. We are very grateful for her help in not just understanding what might be possible, but also what the cost/benefit would be so that we could make a well-informed decision without getting in over our heads. Highly recommend her!  

 

 

 

Private Residence

6-6-17

Your rare ability to blend your artistic nature with the practicality needed to design a livable space is what sets you apart from most others. Additionally, your pleasing nature and desire to do the absolute best for your client puts you at the top of the heap.   P.F.

 

 

 

From Another Design Professional

10-24-17

 Arielle is perhaps the most interesting architect I have had the pleasure to work with.  I have known her for over 10 years and I have never been disappointed when working with her with both her professionalism and her creativity.  She is a humble as she is talented.

 

 

 

Net Zero House Project

4-11-17

Thank you for a wonderful house!  It is a great work and a piece of art!  Thank you, dear Arielle for a beautiful house! Thank for considering all our wishes and small details.  You are so talented, the house is everything I dreamt about.

 

 

 

From a Client from Russia

3-29-17

That is exciting!   I counted months from the actual starting of the construction in June 12, 2016.  

 

It seems like it is nine months. It is like 9 months pregnancy!   Congratulation to All of us with a new baby!  It is very cute, smart, new generation, pretty big, and lovable by everybody!

 

 

 

Complete Renovation and House Transformation

3-15-17

"You have truly transformed our home with lovely details , not to mention all the natural light from the windows that is both warm and uplifting." 

 

 

From A Colleague

10-23-17

Working with Arielle is a joy! She's professional, genuine and dedicated to responsible and responsive design. If you want an architect that knows how to apply her craft and attention to each project, look no further than Arielle. I love that we share a love of modern design & simple forms, a style underestimated in this busy world!

 

 

 

2017 Best of houzz Award

ACS has been awarded Best of houzz 2017 and is also a "Houzz Recommended" Pro.

 

 

 

Whole House Extensive Renovation and Addition

9-19-16

My husband and I are at the final stage of our home renovation and excited to move into our new home soon . While it took us quite some time to move forward with our desire to renovate and age in place , we are fortunate indeed to have found Arielle who was willing to translate our desires for our dream home come true . Her CAD rendering was extremely helpful in finalizing our vision .

 

From initial concept to design and architectural plans , Arielle was spot on in helping us not only maximize our existing space but enhanced all the details to make our home feel cozy and love to be in . The open floor concept in the first level with a dedicated prayer and office room along with a beautiful addition above the master suite was conceived thoughtfully with a lot of passion both for detail and function while also allowing lots of natural light to come in . Arielle came up with creative solutions for challenging issues related to structural concerns . While keeping in mind the existing style , configurations and budget in mind , she worked her magic by incorporating all of our ideas and transformed our home with a sense of balance , proportion and style . 

 

Arielle also worked on revamping our kitchen and designed custom cabinets featuring lighting underneath along with adequate task lighting that imparts a welcoming glow . An island with a butcher block top with seating and storage demarcates the family room and a pantry with innovative storage ideas ties it all together to make the space very elegant and inviting for everyone to hang out in. 

 

Throughout the whole process , Arielle has given us many invaluable suggestions for selecting tiles , flooring , plumbing fixtures , roof and lighting . While we were overwhelmed with decisions at times , Arielle was supportive and helped us narrow down our choices . Besides, she always steered us to our original goal of having a zen feeling in our abode . She offered positive feed back along with professional advice while making sure that we got what we want in the end . Arielle’s work ethic and enthusiasm to incorporate all our wish list was admirable.

 

She was very prompt in her communication with regard to all of our concerns and questions and available for all on site discussions . It has been a real pleasure to work with Arielle who encouraged us to brainstorm all options before making a final decision in all aspects of our soon to be new home.

 

We are also pleased to share our experience with others and highly recommend working with Arielle if you are looking for someone who is hard working , knowledgeable, creative, caring, thoughtful as well as brilliant to deliver the unexpected.  N.S.

 

 

 

 

Mid Century Modern Renovation - Durham, NC

9-14-16

My wife and I are tremendously pleased with Arielle’s work on the renovation of our mid-century home.  The kitchen, dining room and living room were completely renovated. Arielle's plan was spacious and bright, and our home is now more in tune with the best mid-century feeling than it was earlier. A wall was removed, an archway opened and a window added to create beautiful open spaces on our main floor.

 

Specialty tile that Arielle recommended for the living room and kitchen added a sophistication that was missing before.  While the design is the visibly impressive part of the job, we were pleased that Arielle was careful with technical issues concerning the structure of the house. Her work to coordinate the structural engineer and contractor assured a very solid final result.  

 

Added to her artistic and technical skills, Arielle was very easy to work with. We were impressed with her ability to clearly explain her recommendations while also listening carefully to our needs and wishes. She understood our hopes and then improved on them. We would be delighted to work with Arielle on any future project.  M.L.  

 

 

 

Custom Modern Residence - Cedar Grove, NC

9-14-16

We are really happy to have Arielle C. Schechter to create our dream house.

 

She pays attention to all our ideas even the weird ones.

 

We feel very comfortable to rely on her taste, skill and experience. She is an absolute pleasure to work with her.  T.F.

 

 

 

ACS receives 2016 Best of houzz Award

2016

ACS has received a 2016 Best of houzz award.

 

 

 

 

Happy Meadows Courtyard House Receives UGSBC Nomination

10-27-15

Happy Meadows is nominated and a finalist for the NC Green Building of the Year 2016.  The awards were held in Charlotte by the NC Chapter of the USGBC.  

 

 

 

 

Custom Modern Residence Net Zero - Chatham County, NC

10-27-15

We chose Arielle C. Schechter to be our architect after seeing the house she designed for herself and her husband.

 

She has a fine artistic sensibility and a love and understanding for modern design. It was very important for us to work with someone who could collaborate with us on our goals and help us turn our ideas into a functional reality, and we feel very fortunate in our choice of Arielle. Our goals included: an ecological Net Zero building, use of “green” materials as much as possible, and solar energy installation.

 

In design our goals included: modern design, one floor, age in place, clean, simple lines, simplicity, lots of light, a feeling of flow, and spaces designed with the specific functions we wanted (including a “mega mud room,” and a gym, a kitchen with enough lighting for someone with reduced visual functioning, a guest room that could be turned into live-in quarters, and more).

 

Arielle is very hard working, totally competent, and devoted to every aspect of architectural craft. She did a beautiful job of turning the house we envisioned into a reality.

 

She was fully present as needed during construction. On top of all her outstanding qualities and abilities she is a delight to work with.  P.H.

 

 

 

 

Custom Home for a Builder and His Family - Chapel Hill

Chapel Hill, NC

Arielle is an absolute pleasure to work with. I have a unique perspective as I have built a custom home designed by Arielle for some of my clients, and I have worked with her to design my personal home.

 

She has a very artistic eye, and listens well to both the clients and the contractor.

 

My niche is super energy efficient Passive House and Net Zero homes, and Arielle has embraced designing homes that are not only beautiful, but are also designed to perform at the highest levels.

 

Most importantly, Arielle is one of the kindest people that you could ever hope to meet. Arielle is deserving of six stars! 

K.M.

 

 

 

Mid Century Modern Renovation to a Historic MCM House

Burlington, NC

Arielle designed an outdoor dining pavilion and an outdoor fireplace for us.  The outdoor fireplace mimics our mid century architecture and looks like it has always been there . It flows into our landscape and is unique , interesting , functional and enhances our outdoor living . 

 

Arielle is a brilliant architect and listens, communicates in a timely manner, is kind, knowledgeable and easy to work with on a project . 

 

We enjoyed every moment we worked with Arielle and highly recommend her .  C. H. 

 

 

 

 

Custom Home

Chapel Hill, NC

What an amazing experience we have had with Arielle! Her depth of knowledge, creativity and thoughtfulness is impressive. Throughout the planning process Arielle listened well, and accommodated our needs. The end result was a well designed, artful plan.

 

Now that building is underway, Arielle has made herself available to work collaboratively with our general contractor through this next phase.

 

Thanks to Arielle's expertise and guidance we are building a functional, modern masterpiece!

K.D. 

 

 

 

Renovation and Addition

Chapel Hill, NC

Arielle provided design services and architectural drawings for an expansion of our dining room and a screened porch addition.

 

We found her easy to work with, very knowledgeable and very willing to talk through design ideas.

 

Additionally she had good ideas about how to most optimally use what we already had- moving and re-purposing windows and doors.

  

We would use her services again with no hesitation and recommend her wholeheartedly!   J.H. 

 

Custom Home

Chapel Hill, NC

Arielle is outstanding.

She does a amazing job at listening to what you want and translating it into beautiful design.  A.K.

 

 

 

 

Multiple Projects

Central NC

Working with Arielle on a current project, and she absolutely know how to communicate with clients and the suppliers to get the best results for the project. 

 

She always has an open ear for both sides, and knows the importance of design and performance have to come together.

   -  Eurostar Fenestration

 

 

 

 

New Courtyard, Entry, Entry Bridge and Landscaping

Orange County, NC

Arielle helped my wife and I with a landscaping project at our home. She took what was initially an ill conceived plan by another architect and worked her magic.

 

Not only were her ideas creative and original, but they were also right on with our tastes.

 

The end result was an entrance that befit the house we love.  

 

We would hire her again in an instant.  N.B 

 

 

 

 

Renovation and Addition

Chapel Hill, NC

Arielle was outstanding to work with.

 

We hired her for a renovation and could not have been more pleased with her work.

 

She is terrific and I highly recommend her.    L.C

Custom Home

 

Custom Net Zero Residence

Cedar Grove, NC

I am amazed at how efficient [the plan] was!  You literally put in everything we asked for, with no wasted space at all. I loved it, and still do."  P. F.

 

 

 

Custom Home

Chatham County, NC

I met a man on my walk who knew we were building.  I met him again this morning and he told me he had walked over to see our house. He could not stop saying wonderful things. The design was spectacular, the construction amazing, the concrete floors were the most beautiful he had ever seen in the smoothness on and on.  V.H. 

 

 

 

 

Landscape Design

Orange County, NC

Arielle is a knowledgable and creative landscape architect. Her vision, attention to detail, and focus on native species, creates lush, sustainable gardens that add incredible value to ones home and landscape.

R.B.

 

 

 

 

Historic Mid Century Modern House Renovation

Chapel Hill, NC

When we took on some needed updates to our architect-designed mid-century modern home, we could not have made a better decision than to work with Arielle.

 

She re-imagined the bathrooms to suit out needs. She made paint recomendations that were both unexpected and perfect.

 

She went to great length to help select upholstery for vintage mid-century dining chairs that was designed by a living designer who worked with the designer of the chairs!

 

Her passion for her work and her true investment in her clients' happiness yielded beautiful results for us. We highly recommend her.  S.G.

 

 

 

Custom Home

Chatham County, NC

The whole project is already a great success, I believe, and these evolving water(s) feature(s) will add additional unique sensory and aesthetic qualities to it and to the experience of living [here].  P.H.

Subscribe to the ACS Newsletter
  • Instagram
  • Houzz
  • Facebook
  • Pinterest